lastserenade Elizabeth is excited to announce her latest audiobook release, which is another collaboration with writer Amanda DeWeesThe Last Serenade (now available at Audible) is the sequel to Nocturne For a Widow, both part of the Sybil Ingram Victorian Mystery series.

When Sybil takes the stage again, murder plays the leading role.

In September 1873, medium and actress Sybil Ingram is looking forward to her new life as the wife of dashing violinist Roderick Brooke. But their plans for marriage are interrupted by a cry for help from Julia de Lioncourt, Roderick’s former lover, who implores him to come to Paris to rescue her from a blackmailer, Danton Fournier.

When they arrive in Paris, the bewitching beauty proposes a daring plan: Sybil will take Julia’s place in a new melodrama while Julia, her alibi thus secured, recovers the letters from Fournier’s home. Knowing that Roderick still harbors guilt over killing Julia’s husband in a duel, Sybil agrees to the plan for his sake – even though it’s all too clear that Julia wants Roderick back in her bed. Moreover, the theater seems to harbor a ghostly presence that may foretell disaster for the masquerade.

Catastrophe strikes when Fournier’s body is discovered stabbed through the heart. Suddenly Sybil needs an alibi. She must also find a way to prevent suspicion from falling on Roderick as well – while determining whether Julia knows more about Fournier’s death than she is admitting. Can Sybil’s abilities as a spirit medium help her discover the truth before the real killer stops her?

A delicious blend of supernatural mystery, gothic romance, and romantic comedy, the Sybil Ingram Victorian mysteries are perfect for listeners who love Victorian women sleuths like Anna Lee Huber’s Lady Darby, Penny Richards’s Lilly Long, Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Grey, and Elizabeth Peters’s Amelia Peabody. And be sure not to miss Sybil’s previous adventures in Nocturne for a Widow!

marywilkinsfreeman Once again, it’s Free Audio Friday, special Halloween edition! Following on last week’s free recording of “Mrs. Amworth,” this week’s free vampire audio story is “Luella Miller” by Mary Wilkins Freeman. This story was selected by Amanda DeWees and recorded by Elizabeth. Click below to listen to this unsettling story about an alluring but dangerous woman in a small New England town.

“Luella Miller” runs 35:20. You can read the text online here.

mrsamworth2

It’s Free Audio Friday, special Halloween edition! Elizabeth will be featuring new free recordings of vampire stories every Friday in the month of October. This week’s story is “Mrs. Amworth” by E.F. Benson, a creepy tale of a seemingly normal English village invaded by the undead.

Elizabeth’s choice of material for these vampire stories was inspired by this post by author Amanda DeWees, with whom Elizabeth has worked on the audio versions of several Gothic romance novels: With This Curse, Cursed Once More, and Nocturne For a Widow. Elizabeth and Amanda will collaborate in 2017 on the sequel to Nocturne For a Widow as well!

“Mrs. Amworth” runs 38:18. You can read the text online here.

Nocturne-for-a-Widow-Audiobook Elizabeth is excited to announce the release of her latest collaboration with author Amanda DeWeesNocturne For a Widow, the first book in the Sybil Ingram Victorian mystery series, now available at Audible! Elizabeth narrated Amanda’s wonderful gothic mysteries With This Curse and Cursed Once More last year; the former introduces Sybil Ingram, the actress protagonist of Nocturne For a Widow. You can read more about the novel at Amanda’s website, and listen to a scintillating sample at Audible!

The year is 1873, and Sybil Ingram has come to a crossroads. Once she was the toast of the London stage, but now that she’s 28 years old – very well, nearly 30 – her draw isn’t what it used to be, and her theater troupe is foundering. When her trusted mentor asks her to take the blame for his financial misdeeds, Sybil sees no choice but to retire from the life she loves and move to America to marry New York City hotel magnate Alcott Lammle. But her path to happiness is cut short when Lammle dies suddenly – and in financial ruin.

Widowed, nearly penniless, and unable to return to England, the determined diva sets out to stake a claim on Brooke House, an eccentric neo-Gothic manor in the wilds of the Hudson River Valley. She soon finds, however, that a ghostly presence wants her gone. Even worse, her claim is challenged by the most insolent, temperamental, maddeningly gorgeous man she’s ever met: Roderick Brooke, a once-famous former violinist whose career ended in a dark scandal.

Soon it’s a battle of wills as Sybil matches wits – and trades barbs – with Roderick, finding herself increasingly drawn to him despite her growing suspicion that there is a connection between him and the entity that haunts Brooke House. But an even greater threat arises in the form of the mysterious, powerful queen of local society, Mrs. Lavinia Dove. For reasons that Sybil can’t imagine, Mrs. Dove is determined to oust Sybil from her sphere…and the lengths to which she will go are chilling indeed.

By turns mysterious and moving, sparkling and spooky, Nocturne for a Widow follows a spirited heroine through adventures in life, love, and death. From the colorful theatrical world of late-Victorian London to the American wilderness, Sybil’s travels will test her mettle – and her heart.

cursedoncemore Elizabeth is thrilled to announce the release of Cursed Once More by Amanda DeWees, now available at Audible! This is the sequel to With This Curse, winner of a 2015 Daphne du Maurier award, which Elizabeth also narrated earlier this year. These Victorian Gothic suspense novels are perfect for fans of Elizabeth’s LibriVox recording of Jane Eyre. You can visit the Audible page to hear an audio sample, and read Elizabeth’s interview with Amanda DeWees on her blog.

Former seamstress Clara Blackwood seems to have found happiness at last. Having defied the Gravesend Curse, she is a blissfully married baroness and mistress of a grand estate. But now a mysterious summons shatters her contented life.

Clara grew up believing that her mother’s family had disowned them. But the grandmother Clara never knew is now entreating her to visit Thurnley Hall, the family seat in Yorkshire. The old lady is on her deathbed and anxious to disclose vital family secrets before it’s too late – for Clara’s unborn child may be cursed with a horrible fate.

Accompanied by her devoted husband, Atticus, Clara arrives at Thurnley to find intrigue brewing. Her boorish uncle, Horace Burleigh, is greedy for her wealth and desperate to protect the family’s mysteries. Superstitious fear of Atticus torments the hulking Romanian servant, Grigore, and even the soft-spoken young ward, Victor Lynch, may have secret motives for getting close to Clara and her husband.

When her grandmother dies under suspicious circumstances, Clara feels compelled to investigate. And when Atticus vanishes mysteriously, she must draw on all her strength and determination to find him before his time runs out…before her life can be cursed once more.

withthiscurse Elizabeth has a wonderful new release today: the Victorian Gothic novel With This Curse by Amanda DeWees, now available at Audible! Amanda writes love stories with a touch of darkness, and With This Curse is an enthralling romance, and a finalist in the Daphne du Maurier Awards for 2015. You can find out more at Amanda’s website, and listen to an audio sample at Audible. Elizabeth will also be narrating the sequel to this book, Cursed Once More, later this year. Elizabeth has also done an interview with Amanda on her blog.

Can a curse strike twice in a woman’s life? In 1854, 17-year-old chambermaid Clara Crofton was dismissed from Gravesend Hall for having fallen in love with Richard Blackwood, the younger son of the house. Alone in the world, Clara found a tenuous position as a seamstress, but she always blamed the Gravesend curse for the disaster that had befallen her – and for Richard’s death soon after in the Crimean War.

Now, more than 18 years later, Richard’s twin, Atticus, seeks out Clara with a strange proposal: If she will marry him and live with him as his wife in name only to ease the mind of his dying father, Atticus will then endow her with a comfortable income for the rest of her life. Clara knows that he is not disclosing his true motives, but when she runs out of options for an independent life, she has no choice but to become Atticus’ wife.

For Clara, returning to Gravesend as a bride brings some triumph…but also great unease. Not only must she pretend to be a well-born lady and devoted wife to a man whose face is a constant reminder of the love she lost, but ominous portents whisper that her masquerade brings grave danger. “This house will take from you what you most treasure,” her mother once warned her. But the curse has already taken the man Clara loved. Will it now demand her life?